Getting Started with the Project Organizer

Watch a quick introduction to the Project Organizer

To get the most out of the Project Organizer, you need to know about the features. Here's a quick run down on how to use the program:

After installation, you can find the program by going to:

  • Windows 7: Start > All Programs > Project Organizer
  • Windows 10: Start > All Apps > Project Organizer

When the program loads for the first time, the database is created with a first default project. You can backup your (sqlite) database at anytime using the "Settings" menu, top right of the program window.

There are 3 main panels in the program:

  • Left: Projects
  • Top: Queues and Search
  • Main: Tasks and Documentation

Tasks and documentation in the main section are for the selected project, while the The Queues remain the same, regardless of which project you are viewing.

Add and Edit Projects

The default project is called "First Project".
Start by renaming the project to your own by editing the project name in the textbox and click save.

Add a new project by using the PLUS button on the top right, near the "Projects" title.

Rename First Project

Documentation and Notes

Add Your Own Custom Documentation Headers

General Documentation (Notes)

The place to write general notes abouty your project is under the "General" section. Here you can summarize your project and add any information about your project. You can also change the header name to whatever you'd like...for example: "Client Information",  or "Testing Notes". Change the header section title at the bottom of the notes section. This is also where you can add more headers. So your project might look something like:
"Client Contact", "Test Environment", "Production Environment". Version 1 of the program does not allow you to search these notes.

Last Left Off

On the right side of the main section is a Last Left Off area. This is where you can jot down notes to remind yourself what you were working on last. So if you don't get back to your program right away, you can review these notes. For example, maybe you figured out how to fix a bug, but couldn't fix it right then - just jot it down. You can later add it as a task, or incorporate it into an existing task.

Quick Notes

Tasks

Selecting Tasks allows you to add, update, delete, queue and prioritize your tasks. Start by adding a new task.

  • Select the Add icon
  • Enter the Summary (the task "title")
  • Optionally set the importance of the task in the drop down field (A, B, C). This can help sort the tasks and decide what to queue next.
  • When adding a new task, you have the option to queue it, or not. You can immediatey queue it Now, Next, or Last. For example, you recieve a phone call and need to work on something urgent. Add it as a task, and select "Queue Now". It will supercede your current top queued item - which will automatically move down one in the queue. Or maybe it's not urgent but you need to do it next. In that case, select Queue Next. When you complete your current task, this task will then become your top task in the queue.
  • Enter task details
  • Save the task
Add new task
Add task to queue

Queue Existing Tasks

  • Once a task is saved, you can queue it at any time by right clicking it in the tasks list and choosing from the menu.
  • If you have a task that you can no longer work on because of things you are waiting on, select the waiting checkbox and save the record. This will take the task out of your queue (if it was in there) and move it to the waiting queue.

Waiting Queue

If you have a task that you can no longer work on because of things you are waiting on, select the waiting checkbox and save the record. This will take the task out of your queue (if it was in there) and move it to the waiting queue.

Waiting Queue
Complete Task

You have two options when completing a task...

Complete and Close

Pretty simple, this remove the task from your tasks list. You can always view a list of completed tasks by selecting the "Show Completed" checkbox at the bottom of your task list.

Complete and Log...

This option allows you to create an explicit Event Log item from the task. Maybe your task was to upgrade and test CMS components (plug-ins/extensions) and you wanted this to show up in your Action Log for future reference.
- Complete and Log provides you the opportunity to change the Event Log summary (title) and add additional details that will be saved. This is optional. Once you select OK, your task is complete and you will now have an Event Log (go to the Event Log tab to view it).

Products

Keep track of products (versions, installations, issues, details etc) for your software project or virtual machine or server environment.

  • select the add icon
  • Enter the Vendor (optional)
  • Enter the product name
  • The has upgrade tasks will most likely not be necessary when first adding a product. More on that later.
  • Save the product record

You will now be able to add misc notes related to the product (such as key, purchasing website). As with "General" notes, you can add or rename tabs.

Manage Products - Project Organizer

Has Upgrade Tasks

"Has Upgrade Tasks" allows you to designate a particular product as needing additional care when doing an upgrade. Notes might include the file and code you changed, or a warning that upgrades will not be implemented because you are overriding certain files. This is helpful when managing extensions for Joomla, for example. The next time you need to update a product, check the products list to see if there are detailed upgrade tasks you need to perform.

Product Upgrade - Project Organizer

Queue Area

Queue

The queue is how you tackle your day. It's how you decide what you're working on now and what you're working on next. It's where you change your mind, change your priorities, and change your queue order. You queue items from project tasks lists, the task bucket, or the waiting queue by right clicking and selecting from the menu option.

Queue List
Add task to queue
Task Bucket

Task Bucket

The Task Bucket is "all the things". All of your tasks, from all of your projects. It includes items in your queue, waiting items, and all the rest that have not been completed. You can sort by Importance to find tasks to add to you queue - without having to go into each project. To queue an item, right click on it and choose from the menu.
Future development may include a way to filter out items that are already in your queue or are waiting.

Waiting

The Waiting queue shows you a list of task you have designated as in waiting status. This provides you a quick and easy way to follow up on items that might get forgotten or missed. You cannot have an item in your active queue AND waiting. It's one or the other. The program will automatically remove a task from your queue if you set it to waiting. If you add a task to your queue, the waiting status is automatically cleared.

Waiting Queue
Set Task to Waiting Status
Set Task to Waiting Status